Don't forget that newspapers, articles, and books can be primary sources too (see tutorial for explanation). Use those tabs as well.
Books can be primary sources either directly (example, memoirs) or by reprinting primary sources (collections of letters, documents, etc.).
Secondary Sources may list primary sources in the bibliography. If published, you may be able to borrow the item.
Not Sure Where to Start?
The best resources will depend on your topic. Scan the list for your region to see if we have something specialized that matches your country and time period, but also check the All Countries section. These resources should be helpful for any topic (everyone should try these):
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. View full-text available only for items no longer in copyright. Also check Internet Archive and/or Digital Public Library of America (Similar coverage. Allows downloading of full documents no longer in copyright).
Many primary sources exist or have been reprinted in book form. Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. Adapt the search strategies for searching MIDCAT (handout).
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. More scholarly focus than Google Books. Full-text available only for items no longer in copyright.
This website includes not only a way to search for websites that are no longer visible, but also a number of digital texts and other materials. Search by title or author, and choose a genre from the menu tab on the right.
Digital library of multilingual, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Developed by UNESCO and the U.S. Library of Congress with materials from institutions around the world.
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
U.S. State Department - Document record of major policy decisions, 1861-1970s. Only Recent volumes are online (Truman +) For earlier print editions see: Main Library JX233 .A3 and Govt Docs. For editions back to 1861 see the Univ. of Wisconsin Digital Collections.
Reprinted British documents. Includes Imperial Policy and Colonial Practice, 1925-1945; The Labour Government and the End of Empire, 1945-1951;The Conservative Government and the End of Empire, 1951-1957; Ghana; Egypt and the Defence of the Middle East.
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translatedin English).
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translatedin English).
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
Digital library of multilingual, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Developed by UNESCO and the U.S. Library of Congress with materials from institutions around the world.
Scholarly reviews of online primary source archives; guides for analyzing and interpreting primary sources; and case studies for teaching. Browse sources by region and time period.
