Open Educational Resources (OER)

Public domain images from the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Explore more than 406,000 hi-res images of public-domain works from the The Met collection, all of which can be downloaded, shared, and remixed without restriction.

Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.

This OpenStax resource aligns to introductory courses in Organizational Behavior. The text presents the theory, concepts, and applications with particular emphasis on the impact that individuals and groups can have on organizational performance and culture. An array of recurring features engages students in entrepreneurial thinking, managing change, using tools/technology, and responsible management.

Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.

This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e. The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives.

NetLogo is a programmable modeling environment for simulating natural and social phenomena. It is free and open source.

Causal inference encompasses the tools that allow social scientists to determine what causes what. Scott Cunningham introduces students and practitioners to the methods necessary to arrive at meaningful answers to the questions of causation, using a range of modeling techniques and coding instructions for both the R and the Stata programming languages.

Free online textbooks and resources for a new way of teaching and learning economics, using the best research to address the world’s most pressing problems.

Introductory Statistics follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory. Introductory Statistics includes innovative practical applications that make the text relevant and accessible, as well as collaborative exercises, technology integration problems, and statistics labs.

OpenIntro Statistics offers a traditional introduction to statistics at the college level.

Principles of Economics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. This textbook is available through OpenStax, a nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University. It can be freely viewed online, downloaded as a PDF, or ordered as a print copy for a small fee. It has a CC-BY Creative Commons license.

This multimedia, open access project explores the landmark American television series Breaking Bad (2008–13) via the emerging format of videographic criticism. Featuring a collection of open access video essays, this “videographic book” aims to interpret the particular modes of characterization within the series and discusses the significance of character as an aspect of media storytelling. With this innovative project, author Jason Mittell (Professor of Film & Media Culture, Middlebury College) demonstrates the vital importance and exciting possibilities of analyzing a medium using its own media form.

The Columbia Film Language Glossary is a teaching tool designed to enhance the study of film. The Glossary features key terms in film studies selected by Columbia faculty and illustrated with detailed explanations, film clips, and visual annotations.

This book, with chapters on film history, cinematography, sound, genre, and more, was developed with funding from an Affordable Learning Georgia Textbook Transformation Grant.

This book takes an extensive look at the many different types of users and cultures that comprise the popular social media platform Tumblr. Though it does not receive nearly as much attention as other social media such as Twitter or Facebook, Tumblr and its users have been hugely influential in creating and shifting popular culture, especially progressive youth culture, with the New York Times referring to 2014 as the dawning of the "age of Tumblr activism."

Created by Brigitte Humbert, Associate Professor of French & Francophone Studies at Middlebury, this resource is an online, digital language-learning grammar game collection for students of French.

This textbook of classroom activities and homework accompanies Français interactif, the web-based French program developed and in use at the University of Texas since 2004.

This textbook was designed to instill the knowledge and adventure that the discipline of geography holds. The topics covered include: Earth's grid system, rivers, oceans, deserts, basic geology, and cartography. The book also includes interactive features.

The Earth Observatory’s mission is to share with the public the images, stories, and discoveries about the environment, Earth systems, and climate that emerge from NASA research, including its satellite missions, in-the-field research, and models.

This book offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. It covers Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India’s Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia.

Max M. Ward (Associate Professor of History, Middlebury College) explores the Japanese state's efforts to suppress political radicalism in the 1920s and 1930s. Ward traces the evolution of an antiradical law called the Peace Preservation Law, from its initial application to suppress communism and anticolonial nationalism—what authorities deemed thought crime—to its expansion into an elaborate system to reform and ideologically convert thousands of thought criminals throughout the Japanese Empire.

U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience).

An open source textbook designed to teach the principles and theory of abstract algebra to college juniors and seniors in a rigorous manner. Its strengths include a wide range of exercises, both computational and theoretical, plus many nontrivial applications.

APEX Calculus is a calculus textbook written for traditional college/university/high school calculus courses. It has the look and feel of the calculus book you likely use right now (Stewart, Thomas & Finney, etc.). The explanations of new concepts is clear, written for someone who does not yet know calculus. Each section ends with an exercise set with ample problems to practice & test skills (odd answers are in the back).

Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration.

Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates.

Volume 3 covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations.

A collection of sheet music in the public domain, with accompanying biographical and historical information.

This book is an openly-licensed online four-semester college music theory textbook. This text differs from other music theory textbooks by focusing less on four-part (SATB) voiceleading and more on relating harmony to the phrase.

An open educational resource intended to serve as the primary text and workbook for undergraduate music theory curricula. OMT2 provides not only the material for a complete traditional core undergraduate music theory sequence (fundamentals, diatonic harmony, chromatic harmony, form, 20th-century techniques), but also several other units for instructors who have diversified their curriculum, such as jazz, popular music, rhythm, counterpoint, and orchestration. This version also introduces a complete workbook of assignments.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic online encyclopedia published by the Center for the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University.

Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Mind surveys the central themes in philosophy of mind and places them in a historical and contemporary context intended to engage first-time readers in the field. It focuses on debates about the status and character of the mind and its seemingly subjective nature in an apparently more objective world.

Conceptual engineering is a branch of philosophy that is concerned with assessing representational devices such as concepts and words. Conceptual engineers looks for the problems with such devices and attempt to come up with ways of improving flawed concepts: they attempt to say how those concepts should be. This is the first volume devoted entirely to the possibility, benefits, problems, and applications of conceptual engineering and conceptual ethics.

Psychology is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.

A comprehensive textbook for research methods classes.

The SpinTX video archive provides access to selected video clips and transcripts from the Spanish in Texas Corpus, a collection of video interviews with bilingual Spanish speakers in Texas.

We hope readers will take away three ideas from this book in addition to forming a foundation of statistical thinking and methods. 1) Statistics is an applied field with a wide range of practical applications. 2) You don’t have to be a math guru to learn from interesting, real data. 3) Data are messy, and statistical tools are imperfect. However, when you understand the strengths and weaknesses of these tools, you can use them to learn interesting things about the world.

This book will teach you how to do data science with R: You’ll learn how to get your data into R, get it into the most useful structure, transform it and visualize.

This book is intended to be a gentle introduction to the practice of analyzing data and answering questions using data the way data scientists, statisticians, data journalists, and other researchers would.

In 50 videos, Mike Rugnetta teaches you theater and drama! This course is based on an introductory college level course in Theater and explores the history, theory, and technology that contributes to the art form most like life.

Writing Guide with Handbook aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. Michelle Bachelor Robinson, Bread Loaf School of English faculty member, is a Senior Contributing Author.