The Statistical Abstract of the United States had been published annually by the Federal Government since 1878. It is now published by ProQuest. It is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it searches statistical publications and tables by keywords, subjects, and categories. Find a Table searches full text. Find a Publication searches summaries of statistical publications, some with links to full-text. If full text isn't available, check LibrarySearch or google the publication name. See the Quick Start Guide for getting started. Also see Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).
Interactive tables of data on U.S., State, and local personal income; U.S. and State GDP; GDP by Industry; Corporate Profits; International Economic Accounts (Balance of Payments, Trade in Goods & Services).
A database of over 3000 U.S. & international economic time series downloadable in Excel or text files or viewable in chart format. For additional older statistics see FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research).
Census data which allows enhanced searching of census data for download or mapping. Includes 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 Census data, 2000 Redistricting Data, 1990 Data in 2000 boundaries, and a neighborhood change database for tracking tract-level data 1970-2000 in original boundaries or normalized to 2000 boundaries. Get DVDs from Davis Family Library Circulation Desk, HA201.122 .C45 2004, pt.1-3 + print guides and install the software on a PC. See Documentation for getting started.
Published every 5 years. The latest available data is 2007 (2012 data will begin appearing in March 2014). Provides data on business establishments and industries (sales/revenue, employees, payroll). Includes Survey of Business Owners; Business Expenses; Subject Series (includes product lines); and more. For earlier years in print, see the Government Documents Census of Manufacturers guide.
'Census microdata for social and economic research' from the Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota. Provides access to: IPUMS-USA (Census and ACS microdata samples from 1850-2013+ and complete count microdata for 1880 and 1940), IPUMS-International (Harmonized data for 1960 forward, covering 258 censuses from around the world), and IPUMS-CPS (Current Population Survey - monthly data 1989 - 2013+).
Interactive table creation for economic activity indicators for states, counties, and in some cases metropolitan / micropolitan areas. Includes GDP, personal income, employment, compensation, wages and salaries, personal current transfer receipts, personal current taxes, and per capita personal income statistics. Dates of coverage vary by indicator and geographic level.
Annual data by industry on the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. Also includes metropolitan / micropolitan area statistics and zip code statistics (number of establishments by employment-size classes by detailed industry).
Monthly survey of households which provides 'data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, persons not in the labor force, hours of work, earnings, and other demographic and labor force characteristics.' See also BLS CPS data. Additional Historical data is available from NBER.
ICPSR provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. Creating a MyData account with ICPSR permits you to download data available only to ICPSR members. Tutorials are available on YouTube.