Search major UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations for a wide range of data, including socioeconomic, health, environmental, and more. Most data is annual. See the UN Monthly Bulletin of Statistics for updates and monthly data for some statistics.
Access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD)Statistical Databases (except IEA Databases); all OECD E-books, and all OECD periodicals. Also try OECD.stat if you just want data (extracts data from across approx. 300 datasets. See User Guide). Go shortcut is go/oecd.
Search across multiple International Monetary Fund statistical databases at once. Includes national accounts, labor force & employment, prices, gov't finance, financial indicators, balance of payments, int'l investment positions & reserves, fund accounts, imports/exports, exchange rates, debt, and more.
From the USDA Economic Research Service. Provides data from 1969 through 2020 for real (adjusted for inflation) gross domestic product (GDP), population, per capita income, real exchange rates, and CPI for the 190 countries and 34 regions.
Historical data (1950+) freely available for download. Databases include Total Economy Database (GDP, Population, Employment, Hours); 60 Industry Database (industrial performance at a detailed industry level for OECD countries & Taiwan). Industry Growth Accounting Database (labour skills, investment, capital services).
Published by the International Monetary Fund. Historical Data: 1965 - 1998 also available from ICPSR for download.
Bloomberg (In Person Only)
Bloomberg is on one dedicated computer behind the Research Desk of the Davis Family Library. It offers financial information on companies, delayed stock quotes, analysis of U.S. and international securities, economic indicators, international news, and more. It is restricted to users affiliated with the College. A Getting Started Guide is available at the terminal and within the Bloomberg itself. Once logged on type HELP [GO] or BPS [GO] or BESS [GO] for more training resources. Also see Dartmouth's Bloomberg Guide for more help getting started.
Formerly called Global Development Finance, and before that, World Debt Tables. Annual report 'focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies...Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2011'. Archive of earlier reports (1999 - 2004).
International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) researcher's dataset 2B, 3B, 4B, 5B published by Political Risk Service. Contains 4 datasets on CD-rom with the annual average of composite, political, financial and economic risk ratings by country, for 140 countries, from 1984 through 2010. Also available via Lexis-Nexis PRS Group International Country Risk Guide and PRS Country Risk Service.
Statistics from the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development (UNCTAD). Create tables showing trade between countries and regions (ex. developing countries; euro Area; mercosur; etc.). View imports/exports; trade by major product category; commodity prices; trade in services; maritime transport; Most favoured nation rate; international finance; GDP; balance of payments; FDI; exchange rates; migrant remittances; development assistance; demographics...) etc. See the coverage notes for dates.
"With the Data Portal, you can visualize Socio-Economic indicators over a period of time, gain access to presentation-ready graphics and perform comprehensive analysis on a Country and Regional level." Compare with Africa Development Indicators.
Scores for economic development, human development, participation & human rights, safety & rule of law. Also part of Bloomberg. Bloomberg is on a dedicated computer station behind the Research Desk of the Davis Family Library. Once logged on to the Bloomberg terminal, type BI CGOV [enter]. IIAG is listed under Data Library, then Country Data.
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II. Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape Files.
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and the following GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II: - Efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries)
- Quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment
- Identify spatial patterns and trends
- Generate time-saving, easy-to-use, and customized reports
- Dynamic charts, tables and maps
- Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files
Detailed information about household finance and assets, including housing, business assets, financial assets, income and expenditures, social and commercial insurance, and more. Registration required.
The database, containing approximately 630 data series, is updated twice a year (March and September). Published biannually as Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific, which also includes analysis and trends. Website includes links to visualizations of the data.
Comparative survey covering East, Southeast, South and Central Asia. Focuses on daily lives of ordinary people (their relationships to family, neighborhood, workplace, social and political institutions and market place). Some years also available via ICPSR.
Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities. It provides free publications and statistics that enable comparisons between European countries and regions. Includes economic, social, population, health, environment, and other topics.
Covers Russian and English-language publications, reports& data sets from the Russian State Statistics Committee and the Commonwealth of Independent States Statistical Committee. See their Search Guide. Part of the Universal Databases from Eastview publishing.