Data & Statistics

From the Current Population Survey and Decennial Census tables.

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Continues Business Statistics, a statistical supplement to Survey of Current Business.
Historical Time Series data. 
Also in Print Main Library REF HC101 .A131222 (latest edition, earlier years in stacks)

Historical statistics for a wide variety of U.S. topics including demographics, economics and business, health, education, crime, agriculture, environment, transportation, politics, and more.  Davis Family Library Reference HA202 .K87

Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA175 M55 2003  (earlier editions in stacks)

Hard-to-find historical statistics for major indicators (population, GDP, GDP per capita, etc.) going back to the 1800's or earlier for many countries. Online edition from SourceOECD. Choose PDF version.  For excel files for tables, click on doi link at bottom of each page.  Excel files also available from Maddison Project and original Maddison page.
Other Versions: Davis Family Library Reference, Stacks, Main CD-ROMs  HF1359 .M333 2003

Based at UC Davis. 'Prices, income, and economic well-being around the world before 1950.'

International Monetary Fund (IMF) survey of major financial statistics for countries and regions. Updated monthly. Some indicators available back to 1948. New users see IMF Data Help and Tutorials.

Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA4675 .M55 2003 (earlier editions in stacks).

Main Library Reference HA1107 M5 2003 (earlier editions in stacks)

Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA175 M55 2003  (earlier editions in stacks)

Historical data (1950+) freely available for download.  Databases include Total Economy Database (GDP, Population, Employment, Hours); 60 Industry Database (industrial performance at a detailed industry level for OECD countries & Taiwan). Industry Growth Accounting Database (labour skills, investment, capital services).

The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 168 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2000.

Czoernig is an online database and data exchange hub containing historical demographic, economic and other data on Central and Eastern Europe.
In terms of its geographic extent, the bulk of the datasets that you can find here covers the provinces and crownlands once ruled by the Habsburgs (hence the schwarzgelb colour scheme) but I happily accept contributions from other corners of the general CEE region. In terms of its temporal extent, most of the data pertain to the period before 1914 but this is not a hard and fast rule. I also impose no limit on how far back into the past the data may go.

​

Soviet Economic Statistical Series. Contains information on:
- Gross social product & national income
- Capital Formation, Investment & Construction
- Population, labor, & wages
-Material Welfare
-Money & Finance
-Foreign Trade