Here you will find resources specific to African American Studies.
Consult the other pages in the menu (e.g., Articles, Books) for important databases, catalogs, and reference sources of broader scope that include material relevant to African American Studies.
Full-text newspapers articles from: Canadian observer, Christian recorder, Colored American, Douglass monthly, Frederick Douglass paper, Freedom’s journal, Freedmen’s record and Freedmen’s journal, National era, Negro Business League Herald, North Star, Provincial Freeman, Weekly advocate
Search the digital full-text editions of the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003).
Additional Sources: Newspapers
For historical newspapers, see Primary Sources. For current newspapers, see the Newspapers section under Articles.
Full-text newspapers articles from: Canadian observer, Christian recorder, Colored American, Douglass monthly, Frederick Douglass paper, Freedom’s journal, Freedmen’s record and Freedmen’s journal, National era, Negro Business League Herald, North Star, Provincial Freeman, Weekly advocate
Fannie Lou Hamer was a voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party.
A research database from Adam Matthew with original material from 30 libraries and archives including the British Library, Duke University, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Freedom Riders were civil rights activists that rode interstate buses into the segregated South to test the United States Supreme Court decision in Boynton v. Virginia. Boynton had outlawed racial segregation in the restaurants and waiting rooms in terminals serving buses that crossed state lines.
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces. Online encyclopedia
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias, including African American Eras, African American Literature, African American Writers, African Americans in Sports, The African-American Years, The African American Almanac, and more.
Library of Congress digital collections including The Frederick Douglass Papers, Jackie Robinson, Born in Slavery, From Slavery to Freedom, and Slaves and the Courts.
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture located in Harlem, New York is a research unit of The New York Public Library system. It is recognized as one of the leading institutions focusing exclusively on African-American, African Diaspora, and African experiences.
Twilight: Los Angeles by 
Words of Fire : An Anthology of African-American Feminist Thought
Between Barack and a Hard Place by 
Critical Race Theory
Sister Outsider by 
Frederick Douglass - Autobiographies
African American Literary Theory