Guides: Ethnic Studies: Asian American Studies

What's on this Page?

Here you will find resources specific to Asian American Studies.
Consult the other pages in the menu (e.g., Articles, Books) for important databases, catalogs, and reference sources of broader scope that include material relevant to Asian American Studies.

Asian American --
Browse subject headings beginning with Asian American.
Browse by a specific group
Examples: Chinese American, Hmong American, Korean American, etc.
Amerasians
Used sometimes for Vietnamese Americans.
Pacific Islander Americans
May provide additional resources not also classified as Asian American. Find also resources related to Hawaiʻi.

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
This digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of interned Japanese-Americans during WWII. Most articles in English, with some in Japanese. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete.

Additional Sources: Newspapers
For historical newspapers, see Primary Sources. For current newspapers, see the Newspapers section under Articles.

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
Japanese American internment camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans during WWII.

Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (JARDA)
Personal and official photographs, letters and diaries, transcribed oral histories, art, and more from Japanese American WWII internment camps, 1942-1946. Digital archives. (Related: Japanese American 442nd Regimental Combat Team archives)

Asian American Writers
Biographical articles on Asian American writers, with bibliographies.
The Columbia Guide to Asian American Literature Since 1945
Print: Reference Section PS153.A84 H8 2006
Distinguished Asian Americans : A Biographical Dictionary
Print: Reference E184.O6 D57 1999
Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife
In-depth entries on Asian American ethnic groups, covering culture, religion, crafts, major events, novels, rituals, festivals, food, and more. Includes suggestions for further reading.
Additional Sources: Reference
See the Reference Sources tab for more options.

Angry Asian Man
Blog providing brief commentary on representations of Asian Americans in the media, popular culture, and art, as well as interviews, news, and more.
Asian American Literature Fans
Asian American Literature Fans is a moderated blog for which anyone can submit Asian American literature book reviews. Most of the reviews come from a core group of members. The book reviews range in length and depth, but generally include an overview of the book, reflections, and assessment, as well as images of the book covers and links to Amazon or other reviews.
Asian American Writers' Workshop
AAWW works for the promotion and publication of creative writing by Asian Americans. From their website, access their several online publications of fiction, articles, and reviews.
Hyphen Magazine
Hyphen Magazine aims to "go beyond celebrity interviews and essays about discovering our roots, which we found a long time ago, thank-you-very-much." The website offers many magazine articles in full text, as well as a blog and events page. Topics include Asian American arts and politics, including book reviews.