Guides: Political Science: Articles

Political Science & Policy Focused Resources

Use LibrarySearch or these more specialized resources:

ProQuest Political Science
Includes leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts; recent full-text doctoral dissertations; working papers; conference proceedings; country profiles; political news and other sources. Coverage: 1985 - current

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) offers a streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Resources include the full text of national and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business and financial information; U.S. laws, regulations, and legal cases.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online Journals This link opens in a new window
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
CQ Weekly This link opens in a new window
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Weekly Reports which follow congressional actions. Includes floor votes. 1983 to current. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq

Annual Review of Political Science
From 1998 to present. Covers significant developments in the field of Political Science.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search across journals, newspapers, and magazines content from multiple ProQuest databases.

Tip: Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles!

A subset of scholarly articles are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" (that is they are reviewed / refereed by other experts in the field before being accepted for publication).

You can limit your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles in LibrarySearch (the library default search) and many other library databases.

If in doubt or if there's no such limit, consult the journal's website for publication information, including whether it is peer-reviewed.

Legal (and more) Resources

Legal Information Library Subject Guide
US and international court cases, laws, and treaty resources can be found on this Middlebury library subject guide.

Book Reviews

Book Reviews Subject Guide
For additional sources of book reviews, see the separate Book Reviews Guide.

Translations of the Foreign Press

Why Use Translations?

In English
Local (non-US) Perspective

Current Digest of the Russian Press
Weekly selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English. Online access 2001 - present. Earlier years called Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press and before that, Current Digest of the Soviet Press. Back issues in print and microfiche.

Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window
The Current Digest of the Chinese Press offers a comprehensive understanding of current events and happenings from the Chinese point of view through English translations of key Chinese newspaper articles. Articles are chosen across a wide range of topics, including politics, international relations, security, economics, education, public health, culture and more.

FBIS Daily Report (microfiche & partially online)
Translations of radio and TV broadcasts, newspaper and magazine articles, wire services and speeches. Some reports available FULL-TEXT via Hathitrust. Foreign radio broadcasts listed separately. The library has reports on microfiche for Latin America ('90+), Sub-Sahara Africa ('91+), Asia & Pacific/East Asia ('85+), USSR & East Europe/Central Eurasia ('78-'96), China ('79+), Eastern Europe ('87+). Use theIndex to the FBIS Daily Reports - Govt Docs Reference DJ - DS. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.10. For more detail, see the FBIS handout. See also JPRS reports and JPRS handout.
Watching America.com
Non-partisan internet site that translates into English foreign news articles about the U.S. Great for getting a non-U.S. perspective on events involving the U.S. and for monitoring world opinion of the U.S. The site uses a combination of machine translation and human editors.
World Press Review
Provides articles reprinted and/or translated from the foreign press, as well as originally written material. Latest issues online (now a website). Older issues in Bound Periodicals AP2 .A83 2001 - 2004 and Microfiche 1980-2000.

Looking for a Specific Journal, Magazine or Newspaper?

Check on the Library Quick Search Box (on the Library homepage) or use go/journals.

It includes journals, newspapers and magazines too.

Discover whether we have access online, in print, or on microfilm and where to search it full-text.
Be sure to note the dates of coverage!

Political Science

Subject Specialist