Guides: Political Science: Encyclopedias & More

Why Use Reference Works?

Reference works include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, directories, and other succinct background or factual materials to aid in research.

They may give you a succinct overview of a topic.
They may help you identify a topic to explore in depth.
They may provide quick, reliable facts.
They may include bibliographies that will lead you to detailed studies.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

These are just a few titles. For more, also browse JA's - JX's and E183's (history) in the Davis Family Library Reference Collection on the main floor.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work.
CQ Press This link opens in a new window
Online access to Congressional Quarterly pubications: Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents; Politics in America; and five CQ Guides: Guide to Congress; Guide to the Presidency; Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court; Guide to U.S. Elections; Guide to Political Campaigns in America.

MIDCAT List - Political Science Dictionaries
This is a midcat subject search for United States -- Politics and government -- Dictionaries. Mostly in Main Library Reference JK9's.
MIDCAT List - Political Science Encyclopedias
This is a midcat keyword search that searches politics and encyclopedias in the subject field.
Also browse JA's - JX's and E183's in the Davis Family Library Reference Collection.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).

CQ Press This link opens in a new window
Online access to Congressional Quarterly pubications: Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents; Politics in America; and five CQ Guides: Guide to Congress; Guide to the Presidency; Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court; Guide to U.S. Elections; Guide to Political Campaigns in America.

Almanac of American Politics
Includes biographical information. Searchable online through select library databases. Older issues also in print Davis Family Library JK1012 .A44.
European Political Facts
Various volumes cover 1648 - 1999. Includes election statistics, heads of state, defence, parliaments, and other political facts.

Biographical Information

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.

Encyclopedia of Leadership
Davis Family Library Reference HD57.7 .E53 2004 (4 volumes)
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress: 1774-present
Also available in print - Davis Family Library Reference JK1010 U5.
Congressional Directory
The official directory of the U.S. Congress. Online 1997 - present. Includes short biographies, committee assignments, contact information, etc. Also includes other federal officials and agencies, DC government, independent agencies, statistics, and much more.
CQ Politics in America
Searchable directory of information on members of Congress and their districts. Includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results and key votes. Also in Print: Main Library Reference JK1012 P64. For CQ Electronic Library, Go shortcut = go/cq.
Almanac of American Politics
Includes biographical information. Searchable online through select library databases. Older issues also in print Davis Family Library JK1012 .A44.

Maps & Visual Data

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.

Data Visualization DIY: Our Top Tools
From Data Journalism Handbook
Maps & GIS Research Guide
Library guide to map and GIS resources at Midd.