The Statistical Abstract of the United States had been published annually by the Federal Government since 1878. It is now published by ProQuest. It is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
ICPSR provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. In order to download data, you must create a MyData account with ICPSR, using a middlebury.edu email address. Tutorials are available on YouTube.
For statistics on a wide range of topics in all fields arranged A-Z (crime, demographics, children, labor, etc.) this Middlebury Libraries Statistics Guide has links to both national and international resources.
The main economic & demographic statistics databases can be found on this separate Middlebury library guide. Start here if you need our top statistical databases with a variety of variables or specialized resources arranged by broad category.
Specialized Political Statistics
Note: General databases of U.S. and Country-specific data are included in the guides above - rather than here.
From Stanford University. "Contains over 100 million political contributions made by individuals and organizations to local, state, and federal elections spanning a period from 1979 to 2012. A corresponding database of candidates and committees provides additional information on state and federal elections."
Track bills in Congress, voting and sponsorship records, committee activities, links to biographical information on legislators, bill statistics, and more. GovTrack.us, a project of Civic Impulse, LLC.
Joint effort between UT-Austin, Penn State, U Washington funded by the NSF. The project tracks policy changes in the United States. It 'collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War.'
Congressional data generated by researchers Howard Rosenthal and Keith Poole that is available for download including roll call, interest group ratings, party unity, etc. "This may be one of the most frequented dataset among congressional scholars."
Aggregates official election results from all 50 states + DC from 1860 to present (once available). Free access for state and national level data and maps. County and congressional-district maps are free. For county data, see a librarian for password-protected access to our purchased datasets.
From CSP/INSCR (Center for Systemic Peace / Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research). Data on state failure, political violence, terrorist acts, regime characteristics, coups, refugees, and more.
BTI publishes 2 rankings. 'The Status Index ranks the countries according to their state of democracy and market economy; the Management Index ranks them according to their leadership's management performance...' Also see their detailed country reports.
Access to a variety of conflict-related datasets. Data is coded and users will need to consult codebooks to interpret the variables. See also World Handbook of Politics IV for another set of country-level contentious politics event data.
"Country Policy and Institutional Assessment (CPIA) Africa report, describes the progress made in low-income African countries to strengthen their policies and institutions that help to spur better development outcomes." CPIA scores assess the performance of countries along 16 dimensions of policy and institutional quality.
Scores for economic development, human development, participation & human rights, safety & rule of law. Also part of Bloomberg. Bloomberg is on a dedicated computer station behind the Research Desk of the Davis Family Library. Once logged on to the Bloomberg terminal, type BI CGOV [enter]. IIAG is listed under Data Library, then Country Data.
Compiled by Paul R. Hensel. Includes a variety of political and economic data sources including those related to conflicts and disputes, human rights, terrorism, trade, investment, environment, countries, treaties, democracy, and much more.
"Contains information on the birthplaces and ethnicities of the effective leaders of 175 countries around the world in the 1989-2018 period, as defined in the Archigos database. The dataset is at the political leader level and reports information on 1044 effective leaders. Birthplaces of the effective leader are geo-coded, with highest precision being the village or city level."
International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) researcher's dataset 2B, 3B, 4B, 5B published by Political Risk Service. Contains 4 datasets on CD-rom with the annual average of composite, political, financial and economic risk ratings by country, for 140 countries, from 1984 through 2010. Also available via Lexis-Nexis PRS Group International Country Risk Guide and PRS Country Risk Service.
The annual 'World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers' (WMEAT) provides annual military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, selected economic data, and relative indicators consisting of pertinent military-economic ratios. The data is accompanied by analyses and highlights. Earlier editions in Govt. Docs. AC1.16:
From the World Bank. Governance indicators for 212 countries and territories over the period 1996– , for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability; Political Stability and Absence of Violence; Government Effectiveness; Regulatory Quality; Rule of Law; Control of Corruption.'
Using Datasets with Stata
Found data and need help using it with Stata? Try these Stata.com video tutorials: