Skip to main content

Zotero for Citation Management

Manage your research and create bibliographies with Zotero.

Create In-Text Citations or Footnotes

To create an in-text citation or footnote:

  1. In Zotero, right-click on the desired item and choose Create Bibliography from Item.
  2. Choose the desired citation style.
  3. Under Output Mode, click Citations for in-text citations or Notes for footnotes.
  4. Under Output Method, click Copy to Clipboard.
  5. Click ok.
  6. Paste into your document.
  7. Edit your bibliography for completeness and accuracy.

Note: Alternatively, we recommend the Microsoft Word/LibreOffice plugin to create citations and bibliographies if you are using a word processor.

Create a Bibliography

To create a bibliography:

  1. In Zotero, select the desired items.
  2. Right-click and choose Create Bibliography from Items.
  3. Choose the desired citation style.
  4. Under Output Mode, click Bibliography.
  5. Under Output Method, click Copy to Clipboard.
  6. Click ok.
  7. Paste into your document.
  8. Edit your bibliography for completeness and accuracy.

Alternative ways to create bibliographies:

  • Export as RTF or HTML formats.
  • Print.
  • Select items, then click and drag into a Word document.
  • Use the Microsoft Word/LibreOffice plugin (see MS Word Plugin page).

Add Citation Styles

To view Zotero's citation styles:

  1. In Zotero, go to your Preferences menu (on Mac, Zotero > Preferences; on PC, Edit > Preferences).
  2. Click Cite.
  3. Click Styles. The list of available citation styles will appear.

To add a citation style:

  1. Complete the above steps.
  2. Click Get additional styles. The Zotero Style Repository website will open in a separate window.
  3. Search for the desired style - you can hover over the style to see an example.
  4. Click the desired style.
  5. The style will be added to your list of available styles in Zotero.