Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero for Citation Management

Manage your research and create bibliographies with Zotero.

Collections

About

  • Collections are folders in your Zotero library.
  • Collections can help you organize sources by project or by topic.
  • An item can live in multiple folders.
  • Items removed from a collection will still be available in your Zotero library.

Instructions

  1. To create a new collection, click the New Collection icon (looks like a folder with a plus sign).
  2. Click and drag items in your library into collections.
  3. You can also create sub-collections by right clicking on a particular collection.

Tags

About

  • Tags are descriptors you can apply to individual items.
  • Tags are useful when searching for items.
  • Tags may be used instead of, or in addition to, Collections.
  • Sometimes, tags will be downloaded automatically when you save a source.

Instructions

  1. Click on an item.
  2. From the right panel, click Tags.
  3. Click Add.
  4. Write in your tag and hit return.
  5. TIP: use words that are not in the title of the article in your tags!

Take Notes

About

  • You can take notes in Zotero.
  • Each note will be associated with a specific item/source. This can make it easier to keep track of the source of quotes, notes, and summaries.
  • Notes are searchable.
  • You can have multiple notes associated with a single item.

Instructions

  1. Click on an item.
  2. In the right panel (or lower panel in stacked mode), click Notes.
  3. Click "Add" to start a new note.
  4. Take your notes.