Books - History - Asian - Guides at Middlebury College

Search for books and more

LibrarySearch
Middlebury Library's search engine. It searches nearly everything we own or have access to, including books, articles, films, reference materials, primary sources and more. (go/LibrarySearch/)

WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via Interlibrary Loan. When viewing items, on the right hand side you will see an "Access options" that will give you a link to request the item via Interlibrary Loan. This will lead back the the Middlebury Interlibrary loan system, login with your Middlebury credentials, and submit your request.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. View full-text available only for items no longer in copyright. Also check Internet Archive and/or Digital Public Library of America (Similar coverage. Allows downloading of full documents no longer in copyright).
Internet Archive (Archive.org)
Includes digital texts, media, and other materials. Search by title or author, and choose a genre from the menu tab on the right. Also search for archived copies of websites by date.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
America's Historical Imprints
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Loeb Classical Library
Online access to Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations. Many titles also available in print (see MIDCAT) in the Davis Family Library stacks.

Research Tip:

Use the bibliographies of the sources you find to identify additional primary and secondary resources to locate and use.