Newspapers - History - Asian - Guides at Middlebury College

Asian Newspapers

Asian Newspapers - in English

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Times of India This link opens in a new window
Includes 1838 through 10 years ago
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore the civil wars, Japanese invasion, occupation by foreign nations, rise of communism, and more - many English-language newspapers from 1832-1953.
Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window
2011 - present. Offers an understanding of current events from the Chinese point of view through English translations of key Chinese newspaper articles. Articles are chosen across a wide range of topics, including politics, international relations, security, economics, education, public health, culture and more.

South China Morning Post
1990's present. The largest English language newspaper in Hong Kong. Its readership is roughly 60 per cent Chinese and 40 per cent non-Chinese.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni offers a streamlined, unified search of more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Includes full text of national and international newspapers and more.

People's Daily 人民日报 (Renmin Ribao)
Newspaper of the Communist Party of China. Available in both Chinese and English. Limited archive also available. English issues also available via ProQuest newspaper databases.
Japan Times / Daily Yomiuri
Available via Nexis Uni, Sept. 1989 - present.(check go/journals/ for up to date information)

Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of Japan Times (English-language newspaper published in Japan) from 1897 through a year or two ago (depending on the time of year that you are looking). For additional year's options see http://go/journals.
Japan Chronicle This link opens in a new window
English-language newspaper of record for the first half of the twentieth century. Provides news and opinion on Japan and East Asia.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
Part of Archives Unbound. The collection includes 25 individual titles from 1942-1945. It documents life in the internment camps.

Asian Newspapers - Foreign Language

Shen Bao, Shanghai News (申报) This link opens in a new window
Shen Bao (申报), formerly transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao (申報). Full-text access (1872-1949) covering politics, military, economy, culture and society from the later Qing Dynasty to the Republican Period.
申报 (Formerly transliterated 申報)

People's Daily 人民日报
Newspaper of the Communist Party of China. Available in both Chinese and English.

Borrow Additional Newspapers on Microfilm via Interlibrary loan

CRL Newspapers Catalog
Search the Center for Research Libraries' catalog for newspapers. Browse by country and other options. Midd users can request issues on microfilm via our Interlibrary Loan service. Note the CRL number in your request.

British and U.S. Newspapers

Use one of these news databases to get U.S. or British coverage of the region or to pinpoint dates of major events.

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2018); Wall Street Journal (1889-2010); Los Angeles Times (1881-1997); Washington Post (1877-2006); Chicago Tribune (1849-1998); Boston Globe (1872-1990); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender(1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)

Pennsylvania Gazette This link opens in a new window
The Pennsylvania Gazette was one of the United States’ most prominent newspapers before, during and just after the American Revolution. It was published in Philadelphia from 1728 until 1815.
Times of London Digital Archive, 1785 - six years ago This link opens in a new window
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 onwards (most recent 6 years not included). Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper. Search with other collections and British newspapers via Gale Artemis.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new window
A fully digitized run (1842-2003) of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper. Includes over 260,000 pages in full color. Browse print issues from 1855 through 1858 in Special Collections. (click here for the catalog record).
19th Century British Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 48 national and regional newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.

More Newspapers

Additional Newspapers: Newspapers Guide
There is a separate Middlebury Newspapers Guide. Check it for additional listings of newspapers (current and historical) in print, microfilm, and electronic collections.

Newspaper Indexing

A Word About Newspaper Indexing

Keep in mind that many newspapers were not indexed until the 1960's or later. Even on newspaper Web sites, indexing often does not go back before the 1980's, if that. For earlier time periods, you will need to determine the dates important for your research, request the relevant microfilm and scan the newspapers themselves for your topic. Keep in mind that this type of searching is laborious, so try to narrow the time period you intend to cover.

TIP: Try using the indexes of the papers in our collection (e.g., New York Times) to pinpoint dates of important events.