This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government.
Includes documents such as charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations. Also includes interpretative essays from leading scholars.
The First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. Their essential contribution to the war in Europe is fully documented in this definitive collection of primary source materials brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London. These unique documents - charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations - are published here for the first time in fully-searchable form, along with interpretative essays from leading scholars. Together these documents form an indispensable resource for the study of 20th-Century social, political, military and gender history.URL: http://go.galegroup.com/gdsc/i.do?id=6ACP&v=2.1&u=vol_m58c&it=aboutCollections&p=GDSC&sw=w
Online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video. Includes multimedia artefacts from the Imperial War Museum, and items contributed by the public.
From Library of Congress. Events of the war are detailed alongside society news and advertisements touting products of the day, creating a pictorial record of both the war effort and life at home. The collection includes an illustrated history of World War I selected from newspaper rotogravure sections that graphically documents the people, places, and events important to the war.
From the archives of the Illustrated London News. Search the entire 1914-19 archives of the celebrated Illustrated London News and the Great Eight Illustrated magazines collection.
Print. "This 15-volume series, also known as “The Green Series,” focuses on the 12 trials of almost 200 defendants." This is the "official abridged record of the individual indictments and judgments, as well as the administrative materials that were common to all the trials". Available online from the U.S. Library of Congress.
Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
"Consists of collections from various individuals or pacifist organizations that have been purchased, donated, or deposited at the UN Archives Geneva."
Background (secondary sources)
Use secondary sources for background and context for primary sources.
