Articles - History - European - Guides at Middlebury College

History & Region-Specific Databases

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.

British Periodicals
Full text of hundreds of British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European and other cultures between A.D. 400 and 1700. Currently indexes articles, books, and reviews.

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
Tables of contents and author index to 43 major British periodicals.
Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .W4

Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 570 scholarly journals from Latin American, Spain, and Portugal. Mostly in Spanish and Portuguese but some are in English.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) This link opens in a new window
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. Also includes Eurasian Studies. Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. The majority of content originally published in the US and Canada. 1939 - present. See also the European version EBSEES.
Universal Database of Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes Russian Central Newspapers (66), Social Sciences & Humanities Periodicals (80); Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press; and Ekspert. Dates of coverage vary. Includes several English-language newspapers.
Torrossa - EIO Italian Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, chapters, ebooks and ejournals mainly in Italian.

Der Spiegel Archiv 1947-
German weekly news magazine published in Hamburg.

Translations of the Foreign Press

Why Use Translations?

In English
Local (non-US) Perspective

Current Digest of the Russian Press
Weekly selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English. Online access 1949 - present. Earlier years called Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press and before that, Current Digest of the Soviet Press. Back issues in print and microfiche.
Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press
Current Digest of the Soviet Press
FBIS Daily Report (on microfiche)
Translations of radio and TV broadcasts, newspaper and magazine articles, wire services and speeches. The library has reports on microfiche for Latin America ('90+), Sub-Sahara Africa ('91+), Asia & Pacific/East Asia ('85+), USSR & East Europe/Central Eurasia ('78-'96), China ('79+), Eastern Europe ('87+). Use theIndex to the FBIS Daily Reports - Govt Docs Reference DJ - DS. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.10. For more detail, see the FBIS handout. See also JPRS reports and JPRS handout.
World Press Review
Provides articles reprinted and/or translated from the foreign press, as well as originally written material. Latest issues online (now a website). Older issues in Bound Periodicals AP2 .A83 2001 - 2004 and Microfiche 1980-2000.

Can't Find It at Midd?

If Middlebury does not have the item, request it via Interlibrary Loan (go/ill)

Tip: Worldcat, LibrarySearch, and many library databases include a link to Interlibrary Loan from each item we don't have. Look for the a Request button or links with the words Interlibrary Loan, Illiad, or similar.

or Link to ILLiad

Using these embedded links will put the information right into the form for you! If you don't see this link, you can manually enter the information at go/illiad (first time users will be prompted to set up their profile).

Questions? See ILL FAQ or Ask a Librarian

History - European

Subject Specialist

History & Region-Specific Databases

Other Article Databases

Translations of the Foreign Press

Can't Find It at Midd?