Thesis Help & Research Guides - History - European

Information for Thesis Writers

Basic information about Interlibrary Loan, Finding Middlebury Theses, and much more is covered on the Library's Thesis Guide, rather than here.

Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
History Department Thesis Information
Consult the History Dept. website for information specific to history theses (guide with advice and requirements).

Research Methods (all disciplines)

Learn how to design, conduct, and report research using a variety of methodologies (quantitative, qualitative, surveys, interviews, etc.)

Guides to Historical Research & Writing

A Pocket Guide to Writing in History by Mary Lynn Rampolla
Call Number: Davis Family Library D13 .R295 2012
Publication Date: 2012
"An essential guide to reading, writing, and researching in history." Covers finding and evaluating sources; primary and secondary sources; historical writing; choosing a topic; developing a thesis; conducting research; revising and editing your paper; documenting sources; and more!
Research Methods for History by Simon Gunn; Lucy Faire
Call Number: Davis Family Library D16 .R37 2012
Includes working with archives; using visual materials; researching individuals & groups; quantitative and qualitative analysis; GIS & digital mapping; and more!
Finding History: Research Methods and Resources for Students and Scholars by Christine Bombaro
Call Number: Davis Family Library D16 .B693 2012
Explains historical research methods and sources including tertiary, secondary, and primary sources. Includes a case study.
Going to the Sources by Anthony Brundage
Call Number: Ebook
Another useful guide for writing and research in the field of history.
The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams
Call Number: E-Book or Armstrong Reference Q180.55.M4 B66 2008
Classic handbook now in its third edition. Includes writing advice on building arguments, assembling evidence, planning and revising your paper, and more!
Writing History
Call Number: Davis Family Library D16 .S864 2009
Publication Date: 2008
Covers all aspects of writing about history, including finding topics and researching them, interpreting source materials, drawing inferences from sources, and constructing arguments. It discusses writing effective sentences, using precise wording, and revising. Uses numerous examples from the works of cultural, political, and social historians. The third edition includes expanded sections on peer editing and topic selection.

Bibliographic Guides to History Resources

Don't forget to check the bibliographies of relevant books and articles you've already found!
In addition, try these more broad-based bibliographic guides.

Reference Sources in History by Ronald H. Fritze; Brian E. Coutts; Louis A. Vyhnanek
Call Number: Davis Family Reference D20.A1 .F72 2004
ISBN: 087436883
Useful for all areas of history.

Other Midd Research Guides

Check the other History Research Guides, related disciplines, and/or Language Research Guides for additional library resources.

Additional Resources

World Digital Library
Digital library of multilingual, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Developed by UNESCO and the U.S. Library of Congress with materials from institutions around the world.