Home - History - European - Guides at Middlebury College

New Resources!

Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Middlebury's access includes: Asia and the West; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music and Literature; Children's literature and childhood; The Corvey Collection of European literature, 1790-1840; Europe and Africa: commerce, Christianity, civilization, and conquest; Mapping the world; Photography: the world through the lens; Religion, society, spirituality, and reform; Science, technology, and medicine, 1780-1925, parts 1 and 2; Women: transnational networks.

Not Sure Where to Start?

Start with LibrarySearch (Library default search) to search across the greatest number of books, journals, newspapers and other resources in all disciplines and then use the top resources below and from the left menu.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.

Arts & Humanities Database
Full-text journal database covering art, architecture, history, philosophy, music, literature, film, theatre, cultural studies, and more.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search across journals, newspapers, and magazines content from multiple ProQuest databases.

Ask a Middlebury Librarian

Meet

Text