Articles - History - United States - Guides at Middlebury College

LibrarySearch

Use LibrarySearch to find resources from all disciplines.

REFINE YOUR SEARCH

Don't forget to use the date limit if you want to narrow results to the most recent content (for secondary sources) or to a specific date range for primary sources contemporary to your topic.

History & Region-Specific Databases

America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles and books on history (from prehistoric times to current period) of United States and Canada. 1964 to current.

Other Article Databases

Arts & Humanities Database
Full-text journal database covering art, architecture, history, philosophy, music, literature, film, theatre, cultural studies, and more.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search across journals, newspapers, and magazines content from multiple ProQuest databases.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
-Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. 70% of content is pulled from international sources. Includes MEDLINE.
-Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
-Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off campus).
JSTOR All Collections This link opens in a new window
Middlebury's access includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, spanning more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections (Global Plants, 19th-century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom in southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa). Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus).

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection.

Can't Find It at Midd?

If Middlebury does not have the item, request it via Interlibrary Loan (go/ill)

Tip: Worldcat, LibrarySearch, and many library databases include a link to Interlibrary Loan from each item we don't have. Look for the a Request button or links with the words Interlibrary Loan, Illiad, or similar.

or Link to ILLiad

Using these embedded links will put the information right into the form for you! If you don't see this link, you can manually enter the information at go/illiad (first time users will be prompted to set up their profile).

Questions? See ILL FAQ or Ask a Librarian

Historical Periodicals (Journals & Magazines)

See the Primary Sources - Historical Periodicals section.