History - United States

An archival research collection from Adam Matthew with documents from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library. This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the lives of Americans from 1800 to 1920 including the study of families and home life in the South and in the North, religion, race, education, employment, politics, marriage, sexuality, health, childhood, fashion, travel, and entertainment.

Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.

Middlebury's access includes: Asia and the West; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music and Literature; Children's literature and childhood; The Corvey Collection of European literature, 1790-1840; Europe and Africa: commerce, Christianity, civilization, and conquest; Mapping the world; Photography: the world through the lens; Religion, society, spirituality, and reform; Science, technology, and medicine, 1780-1925, parts 1 and 2; Women: transnational networks.

The MPAA Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.

The Federal Writers' Project (FWP) program of the Work Projects Administration (WPA) was an integral part of Franklin D. Roosevelt's "New Deal." It is key to understanding literature, culture and society in America during the Depression era.

The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period." In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.

"a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals... produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."