A research database from Adam Matthew with original material from 30 libraries and archives including the British Library, Duke University, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Free collection from Hein Online. The collection “brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.” Also includes anti-slavery periodicals and publications.
"This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920." Part of Documenting the American South digital collection.
Diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions. Include the records of the New York Manumission Society and the African Free School, the diaries and correspondence of English abolitionists Granville Sharp and John Clarkson, papers of the Boston anti-slavery activist Lysander Spooner, records of the Massachusetts Anti-Slavery Society, and more.
Detailed court records for over 100,000 individuals. "Retraces the lives of over 250,000 people emancipated under global campaigns to abolish slavery, as well as thousands of officials, captains, crews, and guardians..."
Digital collection from Tulane's Amistad Research Center. "Over 300 letters and documents written by abolitionists, government officials, the Amistad Captives, and others pertaining to the events leading up to the 1841 U.S. Supreme Court case Amistad v. United States."
15,000 letters from a family who harbored runaway slaves and were active in the Abolitionist Movement. The letters date from 1757 to 1962 and are on loan from the Rokeby Museum in Ferrisburgh, Vermont. Search ArchivesSpace for a contents list. For access see hours at Middlebury College Special Collections.