This digital collection contains legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses and more. It is an essential complement to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, which begins with the 15th U.S. Congress.
Includes early congressional debates (Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, House and Senate Journals; Bills; Resolutions; Statutes at Large, and more. Includes a lot of content not in the Serial Set. (From Library of Congress American Memory Project). See Also Citation examples.
Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th to 96th Congresses, originally published in bound volumes. Also includeskey Executive Branch documents and thousands of browsable/searchable Serial Set Maps. Now through 1980 (almost complete). For the 1st - 14th congresses, see American State Papers. Go shortcut = go/usss
Digitized copies of the Congressional Serial Set. Contains The House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports are available from the 104th Congress (1994) to present, available freely from the U.S. Government's digital platform govinfo.
Online covers Hoover (1929) to Clinton. For presidents before Hoover, do an author search in MIDCAT using the president's last name, first name [author search].
Also in Print: Davis Family Library Stacks J80 A283, except FDR which is J82 D64.
Includes presidential papers, documents, proclamations, executive orders, addresses (inaugural, convention, commencement, UN, etc.), party platforms, and much more. Useful for searching for terms in everything said by a president in these publications.
"The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. Beginning in 2008, the EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012 and 2016."
The Federal Writers' Project (FWP) was the most controversial and contentious program of the Work Projects Administration (WPA), an integral part of Franklin D. Roosevelt's "New Deal." This bold, imaginative and wide-ranging enterprise is the key to understanding literature, culture and society in America during the Depression era.
Online access to Congressional Quarterly pubications: Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents; Politics in America; and five CQ Guides: Guide to Congress; Guide to the Presidency; Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court; Guide to U.S. Elections; Guide to Political Campaigns in America.
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
Archives Unbound provides multi-disciplinary, topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. It covers a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political persuasion.
This collection documents the turbulent period that includes 1950 coup by General Paul Magloire, the 1957 elections in which Francois Duvalier (Papa Doc) was first elected on a populist platform and the beginnings of the creation of the Duvalier dynasty (1957-1986).
Part of World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean. 'These records are the declassified diplomatic correspondence between the U.S. State Department and the embassies and consulates within the country...The collection deals with the end of the Trujillo dictatorship (1961), including the breaking of diplomatic relations in 1960. Includes discussion of Trujillo's repression and the aftermath of the Trujillo regime...'
CIA Freedom of Information Act collection. "Highlights the causes and consequences of US Intelligence Community’s (IC) failure to foresee the October 1973 Arab-Israeli War, also known as the October War or the Yom Kippur War."
Collections of archival documents on the Cold War era from the once secret archives of former communist countries. Includes China; the Soviet Union; Korean, Indochinese, and Vietnam wars; Cuba; Warsaw Pact; and much more. SCROLL past dateline to see collections.