Contains regimental histories and personal narratives. These first-person accounts, compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative 'map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns' in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."
Famous illustrated newspaper. Includes Civil War battle scenes. For full description, see description from American Antiquarian Society.
Print (in Special Collections), microfilm (1855-1922) , e-journal (varies).
"...woodcut engravings taken from issues of Frank Leslie's illustrated newspaper published between 1861 and 1865 and abridged text taken from other ... Leslie's publications"--Introduction. Includes links to related publications.
"Presents documents related to all aspects of Southern life during the Civil War." "Includes over four hundred Civil War era maps, broadsides, photographs, printed works, Confederate currency, and manuscript letters and diaries." Part of Documenting the American South digital collection.
Published 1840-1870 and using the motto "Without Concealment?Without Compromise", National Anti-Slavery Standard was the official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society, founded in 1833 by William Lloyd Garrison and Arthur Tappan. The society sought to extend the rights of slaves across the country and implied not only suffrage rights for colored males, but also advocated suffrage for women. With perhaps the exception of William Lloyd Garrison's The Liberator, also published by the Society, the Standard was the most influential voice for abolition leading up to the Civil War.
Includes selected first-hand accounts, orders, reports, maps, diagrams, and correspondence drawn from War and Navy Department records of both Confederate and Union governments. Also see the Navy volumes. Available from Cornell's Making of America online collection. Also included in the U.S. Serial Set.