Archive including extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical, photograph, and short film collections. Includes 52 collections from U.S. and Canadian universities, government agencies, Indian societies, religious societies, and more.
Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. The FBI files in this database provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.
A research database from the British publisher Adam Matthew with original manuscripts, maps, ephemera, and printed sources from the Newberry Library, Chicago. The documents detail frontier life, Native Americans, the growth of urban centers, the environmental impact of westward expansion, and life in the borderlands.
Open access (free), digitized U.S. Congress House and Senate reports & documents, maps & illustrations. More focused than searching the entire U.S Serial Set digital collection (Midd subscription database).
From 1789 until the Bureau of Indian Affairs was established in 1824, Indian affairs were under the direct control of the Secretary of War. This collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department.
This collection comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Both of these collections provide unique documentary insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others.
Comprising the papers of the Panton, Leslie & Co., a trading firm, this collection is the most complete ethnographic collection available for the study of the American Indians of the Southeast. More than 8,000 legal, political and diplomatic documents recording the company’s operations for over half a century have been selected and organized for this collection.
Native American collection covers the late 1960s and early 1970s. "Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries."